European Industrial Doctorates (EID)

European Industrial Doctorates (EID) represent the second type of Innovative Training Network (ITN)

The objective of European Industrial Doctorates is to involve the non-academic sector in doctoral training, especially enterprises.

An EID must be composed of at least two partners (beneficiaries) established in two different Member States or Associated Countries. At least one partner must come from the non-academic sector, primarily an enterprise.

Academic institutions entitled to award doctoral degrees do not necessarily need to be partners (beneficiaries) of the consortium, but at least one academic institution entitled to award doctoral degrees must be included as a partner organization in the project.

The early-stage researchers to be recruited in a EID must:

  • be enrolled in a doctoral programme,
  • be supervised jointly by the academic and the non-academic institution,
  • spend 50% of their time in the non-academic sector.

Funding is calculated on the number of eligible person months in the form of unit costs. A maximum of 540 person months per consortium can be requested for a consortium of three or more partners (beneficiaries) and a maximum of 180 person months for a consortium of only two partners (beneficiaries).

EID proposals are evaluated in a specific panel (EID Panel).

European Industrial Doctorates (EID)

Die European Industrial Doctorates (EID) sind die zweite Variante der Innovative Training Networks (ITN)

Ziel der EID ist die Einbindung des nicht-akademischen Sektors in die Doktorandenausbildung, besonders die Einbindungen von Unternehmen.

An einem EID müssen sich mindestens zwei unterschiedliche Partner (beneficiaries) aus zwei verschiedenen Mitgliedstaaten der EU oder zum Rahmenprogramm assoziierten Staaten beteiligen, davon mindestens eine Einrichtung aus dem nicht-akademischen Sektor.

Eine akademische Einrichtung als voller Partner (beneficiary), die den Doktorgrad vergeben kann, ist nicht zwingend vorgeschrieben, doch eine akademische Einrichtung, die den Doktorgrad vergeben kann, muss als Partnereinrichtung im Konsortium vertreten sein.

Die Doktorandinnen / Doktoranden, die zur Ausbildung im EID rekrutiert werden, müssen

  • in einem Promotionsprogramm eingeschrieben sein,
  • gemeinsam von der akademischen und nicht-akademischen Einrichtung betreut werden,
  • mindestens 50 % ihrer Zeit im nicht-akademischen Sektor verbringen.

In finanzieller Hinsicht verläuft die Antragstellung über die Anzahl der Personenmonate für die Rekrutierung der Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden. In einem EID können maximal 180  Personenmonate in einem Konsortium mit zwei beneficiaries beantragt werden, in einem Konsortium mit mindestens drei beneficiaries maximal 540 Personenmonate.

EID werden bei der Evaluierung der Projektvorschläge in einem gesonderten Panel (EID-Panel) begutachtet.